MISMO Contributor Awards

The MISMO Contributor Recognition Award Program includes three awards: Standards Champion Award; Outstanding Contributor Award; and the Chairman's Award. MISMO was created in 1999 and is a mostly volunteer organization. Members of the MISMO Board, Committees and Workgroups are all volunteer contributors. Over the years, MISMO has enjoyed great success in developing standards that have been accepted and are being adopted by the industry. In fact, many of the government related entities that participate in the mortgage finance industry have, or are in the process, of adopting MISMO standards. None of these successes would have been possible without the countless hours spent by MISMOs dedicated contributors and the support of the MISMO subscriber companies and sponsors. The purpose of the MISMO Contributor Recognition Program is to recognize several individuals whose contributions to MISMO and the industry were particularly notable. 

The Standards Champion Award recognizes individuals who made the most substantial contributions towards advancing the MISMO standards during the previous calendar year. Advancement of the MISMO standard can be demonstrated in several forms from direct contribution towards enhancing the standard, executing communication and outreach that enhance the adoption and visibility of the standard to working effectively towards increasing participation in the crafting of the standard. Standards Champion Award winners are selected by the MISMO Residential Standards Governance Committee.

The 2016 Standards Champion Award was presented to Stephanie Berger, Ellie Mae. 

The 2015 Standards Champion Award was presented to Mark Friend, Freddie Mac.

The 2014 Standards Champion Award was presented to Matthew Hailstone, Simplifile .

The Outstanding Contributor Award recognizes individuals who made substantial contributions to the MISMO organization as a whole over the past year. The MISMO organization is evolving quickly. Significant contributions to the organization were and are needed to position MISMO to serve the mortgage finance industry. Outstanding Contributor Award recipients are selected by MISMO Staff. The individuals selected were recognized with the Outstanding Contributor Award for their tireless dedication towards shaping and supporting the organization.

The 2016 Outstanding Contributor Award was presented to:

  • Ruth Eller, Core Logic
  • Shawn Jobe, Factual Data

The 2015 Outstanding Contributor Award was presented to William Klumper, First Mortgage Company.

The 2014 Outstanding Contributor Award was presented to the members of MISMO's Education Committee:

  • Steve Acker, Closergeist
  • Kyle Bensen,MGIC
  • Ed Berger, Actualize Consulting
  • Mike Bixby, Bixby Consulting
  • Susan Borg, HUD
  • Jennifer Caswell, OFR
  • Colleen Flaxington, Freddie Mac
  • Liz Green, Rel-e-vant Solutions
  • Matthew Hailstone, Simplifile
  • Heather Kerns, Actualize Consulting
  • Jim Metzger, D+H
  • Rita Roy, Ellie Mae

The Chairman's Award recognizes individuals who made substantial contributions to MISMO over an extended period of time. This may be a "life time" achievement award or could be an accumulation of good works from the past several years and is designed to recognize the accumulation of contributions that advanced the organization and/or standards forward in a significant way over a substantial period of time. Chairman's Award recipients are selected by the MISMO Committee Chairs.

The 2016 Chairman's Award was presented to Lynn Calahan, Wells Fargo.

The 2015 Chairman's Award was presented to Rachael Sokolowski, Magnolia Technologies and Roger Gudobba, Compliance Systems.

The 2014 Chairman's Award was presented to:

  • Greg Alvord, Black Knight Financial Services
  • Leo Bijnagte, MISMO Staff
  • Harry Gardner, Ellie Mae
  • Ted Adams, Freddie Mac

Congratulations to all of the MISMO Award nominees and winners. Their contributions, along with the contributions of everyone in the MISMO Community are very much appreciated!